3D printing of composites and multi-materials

Experts: Fritz Bircher (Inspire), Frank Clemens (Empa), Christian Leinenbach (Empa)

The first applications of 3D-printed composites and multi-materials that are not based on polymers (i.e. plastics) are mainly to be found in the manufacturing of complex injection moulds and heavy-duty tools, as well as in the decoration and jewellery sectors. The procedure produces parts that are geometrically complex and resilient, but also lightweight. It offers great opportunities for numerous industrial sectors, such as construction, electronics, energy, food and medicine. Thanks to small batch sizes, it allows a high degree of customisation, which also makes the technology interesting for society. However, 3D printing in general, let alone 3D printing of non-polymeric composites and multi-materials, is a niche that is yet to see its full potential recognised in industry.

Picture: 9T Labs

Definition

A composite is a substance comprising two or more bonded materials that, when combined, have properties that pertain to the individual components. If composite materials are additively manufactured, i.e. 3D-printed, the process can be compared to that of an inkjet printer, albeit in three dimensions.

In multi-material printing, several different materials are arranged separately, but in a three-dimensionally defined manner. In this way, composite materials can be produced. Among multi-materials, one variety that has emerged specifically from additive manufacturing consists of so-called ‘functionally graded materials’. These are substances whose properties change continuously along one or more three-dimensional axes, according to the part’s geometry or loads. Such a material gradient can be achieved if the process parameters or material composition are modified point-by-point, line-by-line or layer-by-layer, during additive manufacturing.

So far, the only industrial uses of additive manufacturing with composites or multi-materials have involved polymers, i.e. plastic. 3D printing of composites or multi-materials from ceramics, metal or other materials, such as elastomers, is still at the research stage and nowhere near product-ready. This article deals exclusively with 3D printing of composites and multi-materials based on substances other than polymers.

Various additive procedures are used, such as extrusion and binder jetting. In extrusion, molten filaments (thread-like structures) are pressed through a nozzle and solidified. Here, support structures sometimes have to be printed to secure the resulting product to the substrate or to stabilise overhangs. However, they have to be removed once the product has hardened. In binder jetting, thin layers of powder are applied in a powder bed, then selectively hardened by means of a liquid binder, which is applied by a print head. The resulting workpiece must then be debindered and sintered. Both procedures thus require downstream steps to obtain a stable and visually appealing final product.

Opportunities

Combinations such as ceramics in metal, metal with hard materials like tungsten carbide, or new types of iron and nickel alloys, make materials harder and less susceptible to wear. If such composites are made using conventional procedures like casting, there are shape restrictions. This is where 3D printing brings major advantages, as complex geometries can be realised. Additive manufacturing is particularly promising when it comes to making heavy-duty tools and, in general, components that are subjected to considerable mechanical stress or high temperatures over a long period of time.

Today, the first applications of 3D printing with non-polymer-based multi-materials can be found in the jewellery and dental sectors: Two-colour rings with gradual colour changes, for example, or bridges and crowns with natural colouring can be printed with customised shapes. Initial applications are also emerging in the energy sector, where high-voltage capacitors and photovoltaic cells can already be successfully printed using multi-materials.

Future applications of 3D printing with multi-materials are to be found in many industrial sectors. In medical technology and/or collaborative robotics, the construction of prostheses or gripper arms that combine soft materials like elastomers with pressure-resistant sensors to replicate fingers or other body parts is presenting itself as a possibility. Here, the sensor elements are printed simultaneously, rather than subsequently assembled. These functional structures are thus, so to speak, twins of the real body parts, which include the latter’s main functions, and can be used for training doctors and other healthcare professionals. Applications in the pharmaceutical industry are also conceivable, where 3D printing with multi-materials could be used to produce tablets with multiple active ingredients. These active ingredients are released at different locations in the digestive tract or at different times, depending on the material properties of the substances surrounding them. A similar approach is being pursued in the food industry (see 3D printing of food).

More applications are also to be expected in the construction and electronics sectors. With multi-material printing, it is possible to prefabricate ready-made building elements that already contain pipes and cables and which can be combined very easily on the construction site. While the printing of small-scale power electronic components, such as chips, is not to be expected in the coming years due to the inadequate resolution, larger electronic components could be manufactured using multi-material printing. Preliminary experiments for printing radio-frequency identification (RFID) chips have already been conducted successfully.

The possibilities that the printing of composites and multi-materials brings have not yet been recognised in industry. 3D printing is still a niche, partly because the procedure will not be suitable for mass production in the near future, even though the profitable batch size has increased greatly in recent years. However, the current focus on the production of special geometries and on customisation already offers numerous opportunities in many industrial sectors and in society. In industry, the opportunities are to be found on both the user side and the service-provider side. Processes for manufacturing new or existing products can be optimised (e.g. for lightweight construction) and manufacturing on demand becomes a reality, thus shortening supply chains, and eliminating transport and storage costs. Multiple materials can also be combined within one component in a single step. The technology is also a great opportunity for service providers, especially in the context of large structures.

In society, the increasing demand for personalised products can be satisfied: not only in medicine, but also in decoration and jewellery. In medicine, patients benefit from personalisation and (indirectly) from the new possibilities that the technology offers for the training of healthcare professionals.

Challenges

Printing structures made of more than one substance involves processing different materials simultaneously. This places new requirements on print heads, which can only be met by means of further development. At the same time, there is also a need for research and development on the materials side, so as to optimise printability and understand material properties. In gradients with metallic multi-materials, for example, a new alloy is created in the transition zone, the properties of which are not simply a combination of the feedstock materials’ properties and are barely predictable. This also affects the choice of printing parameters, such as temperature and printing speed, which have to be adapted to the new alloy, so as to avoid cracks and structural weaknesses in the product. Interdisciplinary teams have to rise to these challenges: Materials scientists need to look at the structural and manufacturing issues, and mechanical engineers have to acquire knowledge about materials.

Additively manufactured products based on metal or ceramics have to be compacted after printing: So-called ‘sintering’ transforms a porous component into an almost completely impermeable final product by bonding the layers and eliminating the pores between powder particles. During processing, the components are heated to a temperature below the material’s melting point so as to maintain the shape of the workpiece. This is not an issue for single materials with a defined melting point. For multi-materials, however, sintering is challenging because different materials sinter at different temperatures. One possible solution is selective sintering, where the sintering takes place continuously throughout the process rather than just at the end. However, this requires the processes to be digitalised, so that intervention is possible at any time.

As in all instances of mixed materials, the question of recycling arises: How can the materials used be recycled as homogeneously as possible? It is relatively simple to recycle components made by extruding molten filaments: These can be mechanically shredded and turned into filaments again, from which new components can then be printed. In the case of binder jetting, a more complex approach is needed because the powder mixture that remains in the powder bed, and has to be separated again, is also involved. Without homogeneous recycling, additive manufacturing cannot fulfil the promise of being more resource-efficient and sustainable than conventional procedures.

Building up expertise is important for SMEs

For SMEs, looking into the topic of 3D printing and building up a certain amount of expertise is worthwhile, even though there are very few situations in which purchasing the hardware would pay off. It is important to interact with service providers or universities at an early stage, so as to print prototypes and to test their quality and functionality. 3D printing services based on metals are being offered, but none based on other materials like ceramics. 3D printing of non-polymeric composites and multi-materials is not yet available as an industrial service, but does occur on the basis of cooperation with research institutions.

Specific example applications are described in the articles Sustainability thanks to weight reduction and Foot orthoses from the 3D printer.

More showcases

 
Park assist for artificial respiration

Park assist for artificial respiration

Showcase Digital World
 
Underwater robots for shallow and dangerous waters

Underwater robots for shallow and dangerous waters

Showcase Digital World
 
A passion for feet

A passion for feet

Showcase Manufacturing processes and materials
 
Less food waste thanks to automatic image recognition

Less food waste thanks to automatic image recognition

Showcase Digital World
 
Electric cars as energy storage units

Electric cars as energy storage units

Showcase Energy and environment
 
Recycling batteries in a water bath

Recycling batteries in a water bath

Showcase Energy and environment
 
Making batteries fly

Making batteries fly

Showcase Energy and environment
 
Evidence-based maintenance – a tale of wanted and unwanted events

Evidence-based maintenance – a tale of wanted and unwanted events

Showcase Digital World
 
Earthquake protection in four dimensions

Earthquake protection in four dimensions

Showcase Manufacturing processes and materials
 
Foot orthoses from a 3D printer

Foot orthoses from a 3D printer

Showcase Manufacturing processes and materials
 
Sustainability thanks to weight reduction

Sustainability thanks to weight reduction

Showcase Manufacturing processes and materials
 
Implants from a loudspeaker

Implants from a loudspeaker

Showcase Manufacturing processes and materials
 
Chocolate from a printer

Chocolate from a printer

Showcase Manufacturing processes and materials
 
Teamwork in the air

Teamwork in the air

Showcase Manufacturing processes and materials
 
Quality management in additive manufacturing

Quality management in additive manufacturing

Showcase Manufacturing processes and materials
 
Machine translation for Switzerland

Machine translation for Switzerland

Showcase Digital World
 
New procedures in additive manufacturing

New procedures in additive manufacturing

Showcase Manufacturing processes and materials
 
3D printing of composites and multi-materials

3D printing of composites and multi-materials

Showcase Manufacturing processes and materials
 
3D printing of food

3D printing of food

Showcase Manufacturing processes and materials
 
3D printing of concrete structural elements

3D printing of concrete structural elements

Showcase Manufacturing processes and materials
 
3D bioprinting

3D bioprinting

Showcase Manufacturing processes and materials
 
4D printing

4D printing

Showcase Manufacturing processes and materials

3D-Druck von Komposit- und Multimaterialien

Expert:innen: Fritz Bircher (Inspire), Frank Clemens (Empa), Christian Leinenbach (Empa)

Erste Anwendungen von 3D-gedruckten Komposit- und Multimaterialien, die nicht auf Polymeren – also Kunststoffen – basieren, finden sich vornehmlich in der Herstellung von komplexen Spritzgussformen, robusten Werkzeugen und im Deko- und Schmuckbereich. Das Verfahren führt zu geometrisch komplexen und belastbaren, aber doch leichten Bauteilen und bietet für zahlreiche Industrieklassen wie Bau, Elektronik, Energie, Lebensmittel und Medizin grosse Chancen. Es erlaubt dank kleinen Losgrössen einen hohen Grad an Individualisierung, was die Technologie auch für die Gesellschaft interessant macht. Allerdings ist der 3D-Druck – und der 3D-Druck von nicht polymeren Komposit- und Multimaterialien erst recht – eine Nische, deren volles Potenzial in der Industrie noch nicht angekommen ist.

Bild: 9T Labs

Definition

Ein Komposit ist ein Werkstoff aus zwei oder mehr verbundenen Materialien, die in der Kombination Eigenschaften der einzelnen Komponenten besitzen. Werden Kompositmaterialien additiv gefertigt, also 3D-gedruckt, kann der Prozess mit demjenigen eines Tintenstrahldruckers in drei Dimensionen verglichen werden.

Beim Multimaterialdruck werden mehrere verschiedene Materialien getrennt, aber räumlich definiert angeordnet. So können Verbundwerkstoffe hergestellt werden. Eine Variation der Multimaterialien, die Gradientenwerkstoffe, gehen speziell aus der additiven Fertigung hervor. Es sind dies Werkstoffe, deren Eigenschaften kontinuierlich entlang einer oder mehrerer Raumrichtungen ändern und dabei der Geometrie oder den Belastungen des Bauteils folgen. Ein solcher Materialgradient lässt sich erzielen, wenn die Prozessparameter oder Materialzusammensetzung während des additiven Aufbaus punkt-, linien- oder lagenweise modifiziert werden.

Stand heute wird erst die additive Fertigung mit Komposit- oder Multimaterialien aus Polymeren, also aus Kunststoff, industriell eingesetzt. 3D-Druck von Kompositen oder Multimaterialien aus Keramik, Metall oder anderen Materialien wie Elastomere ist noch deutlich weg von der Produktreife und befindet sich im Forschungsstadium. Der vorliegende Beitrag befasst sich ausschliesslich mit dem 3D-Druck von Kompositen und Multimaterialien auf der Basis von anderen Werkstoffen als Polymere.

Eingesetzt werden verschiedene additive Verfahren wie Extrusion und Binder Jetting. Bei der Extrusion werden geschmolzene Filamente – fadenähnliche Strukturen – durch eine Düse gepresst und erstarren. Dabei müssen teilweise Stützstrukturen gedruckt werden, um das entstehende Produkt auf der Bauplatte zu befestigen oder Überhänge abzusichern. Diese müssen allerdings entfernt werden, sobald das Produkt ausgehärtet ist. Beim Binder Jetting werden dünne Pulverschichten in einem Pulverbett aufgetragen und anschliessend mit einem flüssigen Bindemittel, das von einem Druckkopf aufgebracht wird, selektiv verhärtet. Das so entstandene Grünteil muss anschliessend entbindert und gesintert werden. Es braucht demnach bei beiden Verfahren nachgelagerte Schritte, um ein stabiles und optisch ansprechendes Endprodukt zu erhalten.

Chancen

Kombinationen wie Keramik in Metall, Metall mit Hartstoffen wie Wolframkarbid oder neuartige Eisen- und Nickellegierungen machen die Materialien härter und weniger anfällig auf Verschleiss. Werden solche Komposite mit klassischen Verfahren wie Guss gefertigt, bestehen Formrestriktionen. Hier bringt der 3D-Druck grosse Vorteile, da komplexe Geometrien realisiert werden können. Besonders vielversprechend ist die additive Fertigung, um robuste Werkzeuge und allgemein Bauteile zu fertigen, die hohen mechanischen Belastungen oder über lange Zeit hohen Temperaturen ausgesetzt sind.

Erste Anwendungen vom 3D-Druck mit Multimaterialien, die nicht auf Polymer basieren, finden sich heute im Schmuck- oder Dentalbereich: So können beispielsweise zweifarbige Ringe mit gradueller Farbänderung oder Brücken und Kronen mit natürlicher Färbung in individualisierter Form gedruckt werden. Auch im Energiesektor zeichnen sich erste Anwendungen ab, können doch bereits Hochspannungskondensatoren und Photovoltaikzellen aus Multimaterialien erfolgreich gedruckt werden.

Zukünftige Anwendungen des 3D-Drucks mit Multimaterialien finden sich in vielen Industrieklassen. In der Medizintechnik und / oder kollaborativen Robotik bietet sich der Bau von Prothesen oder Greifarmen an, die weiche Materialien wie Elastomere mit druckresistenten Sensoren kombinieren, um Finger oder andere Körperteile nachzubauen. Dabei werden die Sensorelemente direkt mitgedruckt und nicht nachträglich zusammengefügt. Diese funktionellen Strukturen sind dann sozusagen ein Zwilling der realen Körperteile und ihrer Hauptfunktionen und können in der Ausbildung von Ärzt:innen und Gesundheitspersonal eingesetzt werden. Denkbar sind auch Anwendungen in der pharmazeutischen Industrie, wo der 3D-Druck mit Multimaterialien die Fertigung von Tabletten mit mehreren Wirkstoffen erlaubt. Dank der unterschiedlichen Materialeigenschaften der sie umgebenden Stoffe werden die Wirkstoffe an verschiedenen Orten im Verdauungstrakt oder zeitlich versetzt freigesetzt. Ein ähnlicher Ansatz wird in der Lebensmittelindustrie verfolgt (s. Beitrag 3D-Druck von Lebensmitteln).

Zu erwarten sind auch vermehrt Anwendungen im Bau- und Elektroniksektor. Mit Multimaterialdruck können fixfertige Elemente für Gebäude vorgefertigt werden, die bereits Rohre und Leitungen enthalten und die auf der Baustelle sehr einfach kombiniert werden können. Während der Druck von kleiner Leistungselektronik wie Chips in den kommenden Jahren wegen der mangelnden Auflösung nicht zu erwarten ist, könnten grössere Elektronikbauteile mit Multimaterialdruck gefertigt werden. Vorexperimente für den Druck von RFID-Chips (Radio Frequency Identification) wurden bereits erfolgreich abgeschlossen.

Die Möglichkeiten des Drucks von Komposit- und Multimaterialien sind in der Industrie noch nicht angekommen. Noch immer ist der 3D-Druck eine Nische, unter anderem auch, weil das Verfahren in naher Zukunft nicht für die Massenproduktion geeignet sein wird; allerdings hat sich die rentable Stückzahl in den vergangenen Jahren stark erhöht. Der heutige Fokus auf die Fertigung von speziellen Geometrien und auf die Individualisierung bietet aber vielen Industrieklassen und der Gesellschaft bereits zahlreiche Chancen. Für die Industrie liegen die Chancen auf Anwender- wie auf Dienstleiterseite. Prozesse zur Fertigung von neuen oder bestehenden Produkten können optimiert werden – Stichwort Leichtbau – und die Fertigung-on-demand wird möglich, wodurch die Lieferketten verkürzt werden und Transport- und Lagerkosten wegfallen. Auch können mehrere Materialien in einem Schritt in einem Bauteil vereint werden. Die Technologie ist aber auch eine grosse Chance für Dienstleistende vor allem von grossen Strukturen.

In der Gesellschaft kann der steigende Bedarf nach personalisierten Produkten befriedigt werden. Nicht nur in der Medizin, sondern auch im Deko- und Schmuckbereich. In der Medizin profitieren Patient:innen nicht nur von der Personalisierung, sondern indirekt auch von den neuen Möglichkeiten, welche die Technologie für die Ausbildung des Gesundheitspersonals bietet.

Herausforderungen

Für den Druck von Strukturen aus mehr als einem Werkstoff müssen verschiedene Materialien gleichzeitig verarbeitet werden. Dies stellt neue Anforderungen an die Druckköpfe, die nur durch Weiterentwicklungen gelöst werden können. Zugleich braucht es auch Forschung und Entwicklungen auf der Materialseite, um die Druckfähigkeit zu optimieren und die Materialeigenschaften zu verstehen. Bei Gradienten mit metallischen Multimaterialien entsteht beispielsweise in der Übergangszone eine neue Legierung, deren Eigenschaften nicht einfach eine Kombination der Eigenschaften der Ausgangsmaterialien sind und die kaum voraussagbar sind. Dies beeinflusst auch die Wahl der Druckparameter wie Temperatur und Druckgeschwindigkeit, die an die neu entstehende Legierung angepasst werden müssen, um Risse und strukturelle Schwächen im Produkt zu vermeiden. Interdisziplinäre Teams müssen sich diesen Herausforderungen stellen: Materialwissenschaftler:innen müssen sich mit strukturellen und Fertigungsfragen auseinandersetzen und Maschinenbauer:innen müssen sich Materialwissen aneignen.

Additiv gefertigte Produkte aus Metall oder Keramik müssen nach dem Druck verdichtet werden: Das sogenannte Sintern verwandelt ein poröses Bauteil in ein Endprodukt mit nahezu voller Dichte, indem die Schichten verbunden und die Poren zwischen den Pulverteilchen beseitigt werden. Im Verarbeitungsprozess werden die Bauteile erhitzt, wobei die Temperatur unterhalb des Schmelzpunkts des Materials bleibt, um die Form des Werkstücks zu erhalten. Dies ist für ein einzelnes Material mit einem definierten Schmelzpunkt unproblematisch. Bei Multimaterialien ist Sintern herausfordernd, da verschiedene Materialien bei unterschiedlichen Temperaturen sintern. Eine mögliche Lösung ist selektives Sintern, bei dem fortlaufend während des Prozesses und nicht erst am Ende gesintert wird. Dazu braucht es aber eine Digitalisierung der Prozesse, damit jederzeit eingegriffen werden kann.

Wie bei allen Materialgemischen stellt sich die Frage des Recyclings: Wie können die verbauten Materialien möglichst sortenrein dem Recycling zugeführt werden? Bei Bauteilen, die mittels Extrusion aus geschmolzenen Filamenten hergestellt werden, ist das Recycling relativ einfach: Sie können mechanisch zerkleinert und wieder zu Filamenten verarbeitet werden, aus welchen dann neue Bauteile gedruckt werden können. Beim Binder Jetting ist die Herangehensweise komplexer, ist doch auch die Pulvermischung, die im Pulverbett zurückbleibt und wieder getrennt werden sollte, betroffen. Nur wenn das sortenreine Recycling gelingt, kann die additive Fertigung das Versprechen halten, ressourcenschonender und nachhaltiger zu sein als die klassischen Verfahren.

Aufbau von Expertise für KMU wichtig

Es ist für ein KMU sinnvoll, sich mit der Thematik des 3D-Drucks auseinanderzusetzen und eine gewisse Expertise aufzubauen, auch wenn sich der Kauf von eigener Hardware in den wenigsten Fällen lohnen dürfte. Wichtig ist eine frühe Interaktion mit Dienstleistenden oder Hochschulen, um Prototypen zu drucken und deren Qualität und Funktionalität zu testen. Auch wenn es Services zum 3D-Druck mit Metallen gibt, fehlen Angebote zu anderen Materialien wie Keramik; auch der 3D-Druck von Komposit- und Multimaterialien, die nicht auf Polymeren basieren, kann noch nicht als industrielle Dienstleistung bezogen werden, sondern baut auf Zusammenarbeiten mit Forschungsinstitutionen.

Konkrete Anwendungsbeispiele finden sich in den Beiträgen Nachhaltigkeit dank Gewichtsreduktion und Fusseinlagen aus dem 3D-Drucker.

Weitere Showcases

 
Weniger Lebensmittel­verschwendung dank automatischer Bilderkennung

Weniger Lebensmittel­verschwendung dank automatischer Bilderkennung

Showcase Digitale Welt
 
Elektroautos als Energiespeicher

Elektroautos als Energiespeicher

Showcase Energie und Umwelt
 
Batterien im Wasserbad rezyklieren

Batterien im Wasserbad rezyklieren

Showcase Energie und Umwelt
 
Batterien zum Fliegen bringen

Batterien zum Fliegen bringen

Showcase Energie und Umwelt
 
Evidence-based Maintenance – von gewollten und ungewollten Ereignissen

Evidence-based Maintenance – von gewollten und ungewollten Ereignissen

Showcase Digitale Welt
 
Erdbebenschutz in vier Dimensionen

Erdbebenschutz in vier Dimensionen

Showcase Fertigungsverfahren und Materialien
 
Fusseinlagen aus dem 3D-Drucker

Fusseinlagen aus dem 3D-Drucker

Showcase Fertigungsverfahren und Materialien
 
Nachhaltigkeit dank Gewichtsreduktion

Nachhaltigkeit dank Gewichtsreduktion

Showcase Fertigungsverfahren und Materialien
 
Implantate ab dem Lautsprecher

Implantate ab dem Lautsprecher

Showcase Fertigungsverfahren und Materialien
 
Schoggi aus dem Drucker

Schoggi aus dem Drucker

Showcase Fertigungsverfahren und Materialien
 
Teamwork in der Luft

Teamwork in der Luft

Showcase Fertigungsverfahren und Materialien
 
Qualitätsmanagement in der additiven Fertigung

Qualitätsmanagement in der additiven Fertigung

Showcase Fertigungsverfahren und Materialien
 
Küchenschrank und Chuchichäschtli

Küchenschrank und Chuchichäschtli

Showcase Digitale Welt
 
Neue Verfahren in der additiven Fertigung

Neue Verfahren in der additiven Fertigung

Showcase Fertigungsverfahren und Materialien
 
3D-Druck von Lebensmitteln

3D-Druck von Lebensmitteln

Showcase Fertigungsverfahren und Materialien
 
3D-Druck von Bauteilen aus Beton

3D-Druck von Bauteilen aus Beton

Showcase Fertigungsverfahren und Materialien
 
3D-Biodruck

3D-Biodruck

Showcase Fertigungsverfahren und Materialien
 
4D-Druck

4D-Druck

Showcase Fertigungsverfahren und Materialien